Ten candidates go unopposed

Filing week is over.

And for 10 candidates, so is the election season.

Not surprisingly, judges dominate the list of unopposed, as they are rarely challenged.

The unchallenged also include 15th Legislative District State Sen. Jim Honeyford, R-Sunnyside; 18th District Position 2 State Rep. Ed Orcutt, R-Kalama and Clark County Auditor Greg Kimsey.

Clark County Superior Court Judge Rich Melnick gets to keep the seat he was appointed to fill after the retirement of Judge Robert Harris, and none of the county’s District Court judges (Vernon Schreiber, James Swanger, Darvin Zimmerman, Kelli Osler and John Hagensen) drew opponents.

District Court Commissioner Sonya Langsdorf was the only person to file for the seat being vacated by Judge Ken Eiesland, who is retiring at the end of the year.

— Stephanie Rice

Scroll to top