Big changes in basketball

Skyview girls basketball coach Steve Hook has resigned after eight seasons on the bench, according to Skyview athletic director Jim Condon.

Hook’s Skyview teams had back-to-back Class 4A state tournament appearances in 2007 and 2008. The Storm went 3-1 in the 2008 tourney, finishing fifth. It is the only state trophy in the program’s history. Skyview then won back-to-back league titles in 2009 and 2010, with one district title.

Hook did not immediately return a phone message prior to this blog entry. We hope to have more on his resignation after we talk to him.


Hook’s resignation was announced a day after Mike Cranston resigned as the head coach for the Mountain View boys program. Cranston went 230-179 with 13 winning season in 18 years on the bench. The Thunder have had 10 consecutive winnings seasons, and the Thunder won the district title this past season. Mountain View won four league titles and one district crown in Cranston’s era, with two state tournament appearances.


Both coaches will miss a big change in the state of Washington for next year. 

The WIAA has scrapped the traditional 16-team, one-site state basketball tournament. Starting next year, the first rounds of the 16-team tournaments will be played at regional sites. Then, the eight winners will advance to a three-day tournament.

This from the WIAA:

“The Executive Board voted to restructure the state basketball tournament format beginning with the 2010-11 school year.  Under the new format, 16 teams from each classification will compete in the first round at regional sites February 25-26.  From this round, eight teams will advance to a state site for the second, third and fourth rounds of the tournament March 3-5.  There will be three state championship sites, with two classifications at each site.  Sites and classification distribution have yet to be determined.  The second, third and fourth rounds will be a modified double elimination format.”

The Seattle Times is reporting that the 4A and 3A tourneys will be in the Tacoma Dome, the 2A and 1A tourneys will be in the SunDome in Yakima, and the 2B and 1B tourneys will be in Spokane.

Scroll to top