New year brings new leadership to Ridgefield, Battle Ground

The start of the new year brought with it some changes to leadership for both Ridgefield and Battle Ground.

At the Battle Ground City Council’s first meeting of the year on Jan. 2, the council welcomed new members Eric Overholser and Victoria Ferrer. Overholser and Ferrer were elected to the Position 7 and Position 3 council seats, respectively, in November.

Councilor Shane Bowman is also back for another term after being reelected as the Position 2 councilor. This is his fourth term in office.

The trio joined sitting councilmembers Troy McCoy (Position 1), Adrian Cortes (Position 4), Tricia Davis (Position 5) and Cherish DesRochers (Position 6).

During the meeting, the council selected McCoy to serve as mayor and Bowman to serve as deputy mayor.

In Ridgefield, longtime council member Ron Onslow was appointed as mayor during the council’s Jan. 11 meeting. Councilor Jennifer Lindsay was selected to serve as mayor pro tem. Lindsay served as mayor in 2023.

Onslow has served on the city council since 2007. Lindsay has served since 2018.

Mayor and mayor pro tem are selected at the first council meeting of every even-numbered year. Onslow and Lindsay will serve as mayor and mayor pro tem for the 2024-25 term.

— Shari Phiel

Scroll to top